Aloof yet mournful

I greatly appreciate that life model John Benge messaged me in response to my posting this picture on Facebook.  He says his stage instructions were the white horse should appear aloof yet mournful.  In Twin Peaks, the pale horse appeared only to one character and as a harbinger of death.  I guess the horse foretells tragedy but is itself not involved, hence its demeanour.

2016-01-29 Dr Sketchies (16)

Twin Peaks was a short lived surreal series broadcast a quarter of a century ago living on through its cult status with many fans.  I watched no more than an episode or so.  I think I felt faintly shamed that I could not get to grips with it, like I had failed a test in contemporary culture.  Twin Peaks was a great theme for Dr Sketchy’s anti art school session in Birmingham last Saturday.  This was a twenty minute pose by John Benge.  The drawing was roughed out in soft pencil then reworked in black, blue and brown fountain pen ink with water, with final colours applied in conte crayon.

 

7 responses to “Aloof yet mournful

  1. Nice drawing, although I failed to make any sense of twin peaks (I guess that was the intended effect :-). I only saw one or two episodes and decided it was a waste of time. At least I was clearly not part of the target group.

  2. Pingback: Sketching: A4s Awakens | kestrelart

  3. Pingback: Decadent Saturday afternoon | kestrelart

Leave a Reply

