I admire gardeners and sculptors

To draw or paint with a really big palette.  That’s impressive and a skill I’ve never mastered.

I found my way  to the blog The Iris and the Lily.  There are beautiful photographs here, most recently of butterflies.  However, what caught my eye was the labyrinth   http://theirisandthelily.wordpress.com/2012/01/02/re-gifting/. Although the scale is different, this line in stone brought to my mind the sculpture of Andy Goldsworthy in Grizedale Forest in Cumbria, “taking a wall for a walk”.

Many years ago I came across a photograph in a scientific journal of leaves floating in an iced pool.  I was so struck I had to commit it to paint.

This was of course a photograph of famous sculpture by Andy Goldsworthy in which maple leaves were hand stitched into a mat draping the landscape.

2 responses to “I admire gardeners and sculptors

  1. I share with anyone who will listen that my garden is my canvas and the plants the palette. I an not a technical gardener who plans and plants seeds. I allow the earth to speak and I listen. This is how the garden creates itself!

Leave a Reply

