more fast faces

These were done in one and a half drawing is free sessions. I am focusing on using pencil for the moment. The tutor on the course I am on, Jake Spicer, points out that pencil lines are not just for outlines and edges, yet I find it hard to free myself of that concept. Another thing I am struggling with is how to do more with fewer marks, especially when drawing time is 2-3 minutes. I really like these sketches done by someone else in the same session.

One of the qualities of pencil lines is “rhythm”. The track for the next drawing was Kate Bush’s Running Up That Hill.

The next one was a blind contour drawing. It’s one I like a lot.

For the next one, I started with multiple horizontal lines and drew the outlines over the top.

5 responses to “more fast faces

Leave a comment