Turner Prize show – Michael Dean: United Kingdom poverty line for two adults and two children: twenty thousand four hundred and thirty six pounds sterling as published on 1st September 2016

2016-12-17-michael-dean-turner-prize-stetches-2

Michael Dean, says the blurb on the wall and everything else about him online, starts his sculpture with words and realises them in concrete and corrugated iron and soil and sand and when we went in the installation we found the doorway and battered locked hut plastered in stickers like advertising but these were meaningless words endlessly repeated and I do not remember them but I guess as the blurb says these were his starting point.  Michael Dean, says the blurb on the wall, moulds human body parts from found materials and scatters pennies heaped like landscape across the floor the smallest amount a family can have to live on in one year and not be designated poor minus one penny.

2016-12-17-michael-dean-turner-prize-stetches-3

My daughter thought she spotted a pound thrown on the pile by some disapproving person vandalising modern art.

7 responses to “Turner Prize show – Michael Dean: United Kingdom poverty line for two adults and two children: twenty thousand four hundred and thirty six pounds sterling as published on 1st September 2016

  1. Thank you for introducing me to this artist. I like to see one artist’s interpretation of another’s work, it brings something new and fresh. I have always thought that when a work of art goes out into the world it lives it’s own life, bit like a child.

    • I was really struck by this installation. My daughter nicked my phone and filmed it as she walked round it. Unfortunately,I can’t find a way to load it here.
      As for my sketches, I had only five minutes or less to do them as I was with family. However, I developed and coloured them on the train home.

      • That’s interesting because that’s something I almost never do. I will work from a sketch to develop a print, drawing, mixed media piece or even, rarely, a painting but the original stays as it is. I don’t know why. I’ll have to think about that.

      • One possibility is that you are a real artist whereas I am just messing about. I’m not denigrating myself. What I mean is there is an artistic process of collecting ideas and material through a range of sketches and other things and then creating a defined de novo piece of art from that. And that is what you describe yourself doing.
        Right now, I am not finding time or perhaps motivation to create definitive pieces of art. So I take a more limited approach, pick a sketch and change it and change it until it resembles how I feel.
        Having said that, I do like the process of transformation of art, and the release that comes with obliterating a piece of art and creating something over the top, with some elements seeping through. So perhaps that is just my own approach.

Leave a Reply

