2016-10-16-17-48-51

After the morning’s heavy rain stopped, my nine year old daughter and I went for a muddy walk, stopping at the corner of a field to draw.  The sky was dominated by a huge bar of deep cloud that reached out over us from the woods on the next hill.  Strangely, this broke up while I was drawing it and yet I never actually observed the process whereby the structure disintegrated.  Each time I looked it was different and each layer of conte crayon tracked the changing shapes and light.  However, I did not simply watch and register how the cloud masses moved.

2016-10-09-21-39-13-1

These next two sketches were done last weekend around the grounds of the Tudor moated mansion, Baddelsey Clinton.

2016-10-09-21-40-32

In all these sketches I am trying to use my standard field kit – soluble inks, water, conte crayon, to get a quick sense of the subject.  What is needed here is more lightness of touch.

3 responses to “

Leave a Reply

