Ripples

2016-01-31 ford and old mill

This sketch was done during an evening cycle one evening last weekend.  The mill chase had flooded the road.  I drew from the foot bridge.  By accident I have captured the ripples of the flowing water in the foreground, perhaps by dragging the side of a crayon over wet ink on textured paper.

This reminded me.  Only a few miles from me is Sarehole Mill, known to Tolkien in childhood.  The urban area in which I now live was once the rural inspiration for Hobbiton.  Perhaps we are the invading orcs of his imagination.  I must go to Sarehole Mill to draw one day.

4 responses to “Ripples

Leave a Reply

