Last sketches of the old year

These oddments are the remainder of December’s sketches.

2015 12 odd sketches (8)

Several were done on the train with my daughter as we went Christmas shopping – one of these pictures is of me but not by me, the others are by me but not of her!

2015 12 odd sketches (6)

2015 12 odd sketches (7)

I have tried to risk my own embarrassment and just get on with drawing people I see.  People do notice and look a little askance.  I wonder if someone will become irritated.  I try to be covert in my drawing – perhaps this is the problem.

2015 12 odd sketches (2)

A thirty second view from the train window.

2015 12 odd sketches (3)

Two drawings came from another train journey with my son.  We play a game – one of use draws a random line, the other completes this to a picture.  These two pictures, one mine, one his, took on a kind of Star Wars theme.

2015 12 odd sketches (5)

2015 12 odd sketches (4)

These next few were done in Singapore.  The first is again of the ludicrous Marina Sands hotel.  This time I was standing on a bridge linking giant artificial trees (one shown in the sketch) that disguise the exhaust vents for the power units for the Garden in the Bay.

2015 12 odd sketches (9)

This was the ten minute line drawing of the Sultan’s Mosque.  This was the sketch I had to abandon as I had to get back to catch a plane.

2015 12 odd sketches (10)

This was my one attempt to draw, sitting at a café table in humid heat, looking up at the old decorated buildings in Chinatown.

2015 12 odd sketches (13)

These people were sitting waiting for our plane to board at Singapore airport.  Both sketches began with pencil construction which I later erased.

2015 12 odd sketches (12)

2015 12 odd sketches (11)

And lastly, my son, today, muffled against the cold, sitting outside the pub waiting for his burger.

2015 12 odd sketches (23)

 

 

15 responses to “Last sketches of the old year

  1. Thanks for the drawings. It’s greatbto see you sharing this experience with your kids and vice versa.
    Re Singapore I see that you must have been sitting in about that same spot as I was to draw the Sultan mosque. Snap!

  2. I’ve found you can sometimes get away with drawing people – at a street cafe, say – by pretending to draw the building behind them, by looking up and down but concentrating more on the field of view the people are in. It works till they ask to see the drawing! Locely work – like the bleedy pen.

  3. I love the way you experiment with different styles. Lovely freedom. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I don’t get many visitors so have slowed down with my diligence in posting. Still doing heaps of art just not worrying so much about sharing on internet. May be NY res to post more then again may not. Your visit and like meant a lot. Happy 2016… keep sharing …. we do enjoy your posts. Keep experimenting, exploring and pushing the boundaries. That keeps it all alive.

    • Thanks. I am not making art enough. Been seduced by learning guitar and of course ever present work. I have scraped the barrel for these few sketches. I am surprised if you don’t get much activity on your blog. You have diverse and lovely pictures there.
      Do please keep posting.
      Happy new year
      N

  4. Yeah, I find sketching people in enclosed spaces difficult (well unless they’re modelling). It’s easier outside for me as there are other distractions for them and I don’t feel so imposing.
    In some cases sketching is preferred to photography. I sketched many berbers in Morocco without them batting an eyelid, but I got a few wagging fingers when I photographed street scenes, even when they weren’t in the shot.
    I found the Marina Sands Hotel fascinating. We went up to the viewing deck and got some great views and you certainly do a double take when you first see it – but then Singapore is a strange place, although I enjoyed my stay.

    • Hi Graham
      Thanks for your comments. You describe my reaction exactly – a double take when I saw that building. I wish I’d had more time to acclimatise and see more.
      Happy new year

  5. I find it easier to draw people in cafe’s or the street – they seem to be a bit more oblivious of their surroundings than on the train (not that I draw people very often – mostly my own kids).

    We also play the same game on the trains, but our results are much simpler and usually dragons.

Leave a Reply

