Rectangles

24-10-2015 Ravenshaw Lane (1)

Ravenshaw Lane is on a regular short cycle route for me, one I usually take when light is failing but I need to get out for an hour or so.  At one end is an industrial unit, set in parkland, making large metal waste tankers called whales.  The lane is tarmacked at either end but in the middle dwindles to a footpath and a narrow wooden bridge across the river.  Standing on the bridge, I watched the fading sunlight filter through hanging rusted foliage in a garden above the brook.  I managed only to get the bones of this sketch onto paper before darkness fell.  I finished it at home from memory.  Initially, I drew in the fence posts and plants scrambling up the bank and fence in high key, but muted them as the what light there was came from behind the fence: I wanted to emphasise the backlit curtain of brown foliage.

This was drawn in conte crayon then watercolour laid over this.

The next day, I went to Liverpool.  I have been privileged to be the person who has taken an exciting piece of science into the clinic.  The whole project, from its inception long before I was involved through to the current trials, was recognised with a prize.

11 responses to “Rectangles

    • Thanks Jo
      I was unsure whether to include this in an art blog, but it is a big thing for me. Don’t often win a prize, or even a share in one. I guessed some of you might like to know.

  1. Congratulations! I guess I really have no excuse not to draw. You’ve got two kids and a really important job, and you make time to paint and draw so beautifully!

  2. I really admire what you are able to get across on one sheet of paper, kestralart. This piece is very moody and illustrates what you suggested about near an industrial site.
    Congratulations on the prize!

Leave a Reply

