some evening

2015-07-12 Barston fields (1)

I have found, near the bird reserve, a 3 mile circular walk though fields.  Over these last three weeks, thigh high barley has been ripening from blue green to yellow.  Thick poles of corn have yet to reveal their richness.  The oil seed rape has flowered weeks ago and now forms dense forests of waving seed pods, with sporadic wild oats reaching above.  The ground between the plants is bare but there are wide margins to the fields offering some corridors to wildlife.  One short half mile stretch seems to harbour the favoured roosting spots for buzzards.  I hear them calling, mostly hidden in the foliage though I spotted a pair calling alternately in one tree.

2015-07-12 Barston fields

Here I am experimenting further with small sketches, washed in first with watercolour, before working over this with conte crayon, eraser and knife.  These were from an evening walk ten days ago.

5 responses to “some evening

    • Thanks OA
      I sort of see what you mean.
      I went back to the nudes I drew a few years back in classes and wondered how I had ever done them. I seemed to have had a technique in ink then that I’ve lost since, experimenting with other approaches.
      Still, I do feel some sense of purpose in these little landscapes. I’m only managing time for a couple a week though. Work, children and … ukulele … are my drawing nemesis.
      How are you? I liked your roadscape development recently.
      N

Leave a Reply

