The gift

 

2015-04-19 14.13.01-1

2015-04-06 wader sketches (1)

2015-04-06 wader sketches (3)

For the last year or so I have drawn quickly in fountain pen, committing myself to the lines as they hit the paper, prioritising expressiveness over draughtsmanship, movement over accuracy.

2015-04-19 19.32.46-1    2015-04-19 21.16.24

However, I have returned to pencil and have spent more time just watching a single species, even just focussing on the head, aiming to capture more accurately its structure. It is difficult to picture the skeleton and muscles beneath the feathers.  In the lapwing, I think the neck vertebrae articulate behind, not beneath, the skull then bend in an S shape to join the body (see this related species’ skeleton).  So part of what we see as the back of the head is actually the upper neck, with plumage squaring off the shape.  There is a pronounced bone ridge above the eyes.

2015-04-19 19.35.35-1

2015-04-06 wader sketches (2)

I was uploading these pictures last night when I happened on a programme on the radio which I found profoundly moving.  Mark Thomas is a comedian, of my generation, who cut his professional teeth on the alternative scene biting into Thatcher.  In Bravo Figaro, we meet a man of his time, a South London self employed builder, a hard grafter, with little education and a thirst for self-improvement, and handy with his fists outside the home and within it.  As Mark describes it, his Dad was a bit “punchy”.  This is not a metaphor.  In his father’s prime, the family trod carefully, on eggshells as they say.

2015-04-19 19.34.41-1    2015-04-19 19.34.41-2

We are then taken through the story of this man’s love of opera, his unlikely breaching of the bastions of England’s middle class.  Mark interviews his brother and his mother, interspersed with his father’s words which are few and inarticulate as he now has a degenerative brain condition.  From this he constructs the material for an hour long comedy narrative.  There is no reconciliation, not even forgiveness, no sentimentality but the story leads to that thing I describe here as the gift, both surprising and surreal.

If you are of a certain generation and grew up in impoverished South London or somewhere like it, some of this will resonate. I found, at the end, that I was shedding tears.

 

13 responses to “The gift

  1. I have always been drawn to your bird drawings. You capture their movement so well with your quickly drawn lines. I think anatomy helps in drawing any living thing just for the shear sake of knowing why contours move around the forms like they do. I like it best when the artist combines his observational skills with his knowledge and goes to a place all his own. Thank you for the tip on this radio show. I have bookmarked it to listen to this evening. I listen to PBS almost everyday, here. We get the BBC news in the afternoon, here, and I listen to that, on average, a couple afternoons a week.

      • I made a mistake in my comment, above. The radio I listen to, here, that includes the BBC news is NPR. PBS is our TV station and we get many British shows on it. The link went through and I loved every minute of the program, especially when the son sings to his daughter at bath time. Oh my, I must go and put some opera on, now, as I paint. Thank you for this, “The Gift”.

    • I’d not heard of his show – a chance find on the radio. I bet it was good live. I think the bird is a wren. I was in the hide when it appeared in a nearby shrub, giving me just a few seconds to get a sense of its shape and movement. I draw a lot of waders and hawks when I can see them, but rarely perching birds. They move too quickly and there are so many types, but I want to try to develop this a bit.

Leave a Reply

