Bar code

20150125 Snipe (1)

This week I learned that discount retailers have made bar codes three times larger and present on three sides of a product.  This allows faster scanning, contributing to a 40% increase in productivity (i.e. checkout throughput).  The snipe’s bar coded plumage extend the length of its back and head, mimicking the dark and light of the reeds within which it hides.  These birds were hidden in plain view 20 feet from me.  I guessed they might be there but found them only with binoculars.

I am looking forward to evenings with longer light and the chance to draw duels and courtship in the nature reserve once again.

20150125 Snipe (2)

10 responses to “Bar code

  1. I enjoy the variety in line work, mark making and tone, especially in the first drawing. It must be nice to live so close to nature. Look forward to seeing your sketches when the days are longer.

    • Hi
      Thanks for your comments. I wish I did live close to nature. The last time this place was close to nature was probably about 1500 years ago. This should be unbroken oak forest but has been intensively farmed for centuries before becoming the cradle of the industrial revolution. So, much of the nature I observe is vagrant, invading back into human habitats, colonizing flooded gravel pits for example. I would love to live in a true wilderness but few of them around now.

  2. Lovely drawings – The ‘barcode’ is a wonderful disguise amongst the reeds. I agree about the daylight – it’s improving but nights (and mornings for that matter) are still too dark! Wonderful sunsets and sunrises though, so always some compensation somewhere along the line.

    • Hi
      Thanks for your comment. I have binoculars for watching moving animals but then must freeze the image in my mind to draw. I find that very hard. I also have a lovely light telescope on a tripod which collects more light and a larger image for birds that sit still. The tripod is light and it all packs into my cycle bag with my drawing stuff.

  3. Your birds are amazing! As any drawings of children will reveal, it is ridiculously hard to draw what is constantly moving. (I tried the Lego thing too, ages ago, but had the same experience as you — they just don’t sit still while building!) Yet you even manage to capture birds in flight. I love your use of wash; I’m going to have to try that. Thank you so much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

