Anselm Keifer at the Royal Academy I

20141017 Anselm Keiffer at the RA (5)

The giant canvas the Orders of the Night shows tall sunflowers silhouetted above the corpse of the artist.  This dominated my view at the Royal Academy even when seen from afar through a series of arches.

20141017 Anselm Keiffer at the RA (9)

The gallery is open late on a Friday night.  It was busy.  Although a large group of herded students all carried sketchpads and one or two others made brief written notes, I felt very exposed as the only person with the cheek to draw in this temple of art.

I had first heard of Alselm Kiefer through an art workshop a couple of years ago.  This led to my making a piece We Must Leave as a conscious exercise using Kiefer’s approaches to materials, political statement and the incorporation of words within the image.

 

4 responses to “Anselm Keifer at the Royal Academy I

  1. Love your drawings. I did same at last year’s Laura Knight Portraits exhibition and also felt a twinge of embarrassment to be drawing in such a place. But then why not? Most people looked over my shoulder, smiled and passed on – others were oblivious and in the end, I relaxed and just enjoyed myself. I find that looking at those little sketches bring back the memory of the exhibition quite vividly – as these must for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

