sepia glow

20140525 (6)   20140525 (10)

20140525 (14)   20140525 (1)

To photograph my drawings for this blog, I have switched to using the ipad camera in reflected daylight.  I crop pictures using a scaled down version of photoshop and adjust the exposure and contrast to get as close as possible to the original.  The photoshop app has various filters, including “glow” which gives a rich sepia tone to the work, and I think, boosts the highlights.  This manipulation enlivens the charcoal sketches above.

20140525 (7)   20140525 (13)

This is the explanation of the sepia images in my previous post, which drew comments.

20140525 (12)

I have added a dip pen to my field kit, and, as an experiment, put sepia ink in a small bottle containing a large lump of dried up gold ink, which seems to be slowly dissolving.  I will also take a sanguine conte stick.  I want to see if I can get these effects directly onto the paper.

 

 

 

3 responses to “sepia glow

  1. It will be interesting to see how the sepia and sanguine work with the white paper highlights. I have both colours but haven’t really tried them in my drawibg. Perhaps now is the time. Looking forward to seeing your results.

Leave a Reply

