I can’t find the person in the marks

My son has a delicacy and charm to his features that I wholly fail to represent here.

Like all growing children, his head is completely out of proportion – a great big bonce surmounts an undersized face, large eyes but a jaw too small for his tombstone gnashers.  I typically miss this and make him look too grown up with coarse features.

What I did like about this sketch was that it shows him folded up, typical of him when he is reading.  That is true to life.

If he spots me drawing him, he pulls faces.

If I could capture his expressions as he attempts to sabotage my drawing I would be happy indeed.

I will keep trying.

The last sketch was done in a brief minute as he stood in the nest half way up the climbing apparatus in the park.

20140424 10 Joseph

 

 

 

 

7 responses to “I can’t find the person in the marks

  1. I’m sure it would be easier to achieve likeness if they just kept still for few hours 😀 The best sketches of my kids are the ones I’ve done when they were napping while very young.

  2. I love these drawings – especially the last quick one on the climbing apparatus. Children are so difficult to draw. I did a drawing of my niece that looked just like her, but she changed into a little boy!!!! No idea why and it went into the bin! Very, very difficult. Keep going, these are good 🙂

Leave a Reply

