Blade of rock II: guano platforms

20130622 St Abbs Head 2 b

I had one more day at St Abbs.  The evening before, I planned an experiment.  I would cover the paper in a simple wash and build in the shape of the jutting rock simply using white and sepia ink for the guano and shadows and teeming birds in the air and dotted on the sea.  The rest would be left with the wash showing through.

20130622 St Abbs Head 1

As the rock became submerged, it took a muted golden hue as shown.  I photographed this on site (lower image) before the next drastic step of putting in the shadow and reflection (upper image).  I think this deeper tone was needed to ground the rock but on reflection it should have been done more delicately.  I unintentionally obscured the fractal line made by the yellow spreading into the blue wash.

20130622 St Abbs Head 3

For completeness, this was my first attempt.

8 responses to “Blade of rock II: guano platforms

  1. Arggghhhh! Watercolours. Just when you have it right you get something wrong. Sorry not paying you out but experiencing similar things in my own work here. I’m thinking of writing a book “Watercolour: my descent into madness” 😉

Leave a Reply

