Jottings in May II: Cycling and painting

A comment from another artist blogger reminded me to post these sketches made while cycling the canal towpaths a few weeks ago. This first one is in a tiny pocket watercolour book.

201305 canal cycle

Here I followed a heron as it flapped a few hundred metres at a time ahead of me. I stopped far enough away to observe it, tonally blending with the bank but reflected in the water.

20130602 canal cycle (1)

This abstraction from the scene was drawn in pen during a meeting some days later.

005

2 responses to “Jottings in May II: Cycling and painting

    • Thanks Sharon – if I can develop some of my sketches to something close to the dynamism and interest evident in your paintings I would count myself happy.

Leave a Reply

