Jottings in May I: appartement

201305 jotting 05

Previously I posted a set of drawings from the YouTube clip of this Mats Ek ballet, with the haunting music from Fläskkvartetten.  Before drawing those pieces, I watched the clip over and over, painting largely without looking on scraps of paper, trying to get the feeling and rhythm of the work.

201305 jotting 01

201305 jotting 02 201305 jotting 03 201305 jotting 04 201305 jotting 06

Each time I watch, I am struck by something new.  At the end, how hard she breathes as she beats upon the door.

Leave a Reply

