pumpjacks

Taking the ride from Los Angeles airport to Hollywood I was amazed to be passing between fields of nodding donkeys.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I had no idea that LA is built upon an oil field.  I took no photographs, still less drew in the field.   I was left with a fleeting impression, a mind image only, of rising levels separated by scrub, on each step a scatter of structures rhythmically dipping and craning up against the distant heights and the waning sun.  Gradually, I have been piecing together this landscape and the engineering I had seen, through google maps, wikipedia and flickrhivemind.  These fast sketches are my reconstructed memories.

3 responses to “pumpjacks

    • This is exactly right. That is the memory I am trying to reconstruct.
      To be honest, I am not the first. Some pumpjacks have been decorated with animal heads according.to various photographs on the internet.

Leave a Reply

