Story before bed

Over one week, I retold to my children a tale they know well, illustrating it on the iPad as I spoke .

Here it is.  Sweet dreams …

The children lived in a cottage on the edge of a forest.

They knew the forest was haunted: they went in only a few tress deep and never at night.

Lost deep in the haunted wood.

A cottage made of sweets. How welcoming for hungry children.

He nibbled the roof, she the walls.

Ensnared by a magical weave.

Asked for flesh, he offered a bone.

“I am too stupid: show me how to test the oven.”

All it took was one push

The released spells rent the forest.

5 responses to “Story before bed

    • You are thinking of the opera. I forgot all about that and the dew fairy. Great scenes though when the witch exalts and rises cackling to ride through the night. I listed again recently and was touched by the compassion of the librettist and composer in showing the despair of the mother of starving children and the false jollity of the father, who I think has been drinking the family’s scant resources.

Leave a Reply

