Rain

Tyninghame estuary on the North Berwick coast feels like a visual treasure trove, harking back to childhood seaside holidays.

There is a wide coastal plain, strewn with rocks, draped with seaweed, pocked by pools. Gulls, waders and ducks were far off at the shore line. Sitting and concentrating, I was surprised by the gurgle and splash as the incoming tide crept close.

I found a spot to paint, my umbrella canopy lashed to my tripod, the stem in my jacket pocket, braced against the wind and drizzle. The paper was not wholly protected by this contrivance – the top spattered with droplets.

As the rain increased I sheltered beneath nearby trees. Watercolour was now impossible but I thought perhaps I might get away with chalk pastel. Interesting effects anyway.

By the way. this is my 100th post. Thank you to everyone who has stopped by to look at my art, comment and even follow this blog. It really has made a difference to how I approach this work. I enjoy looking across your art in all its diversity.

13 responses to “Rain

    • HI
      The drought was declared three months ago and many areas banned from using hose pipes. Since then we have had more or less continuous rain and flooding. But I like rain – proper weather with interesting clouds and light effects. None of that boring blue sky sunny rubbish.

  1. Excellent! That top one reminds me of a place I stayed last summer in Washington state. Cloudy and rainy near a large wetlands area. You’ve really captured the feeling of what that kind of place is like on a rainy day.

  2. Thanks for finding my blog and “liking” it. I certainly more than like yours. Your work is absolutely beautiful. I identify with you where on your Who Am I page you describe your art as being a compulsion. I’m not sure if you know what I mean, but you really have created that other world that I try to create in my work. A place where I want to live/ hide. I especially feel and see that in the second piece above.

Leave a Reply

