Life drawing

Here are two attempts of the same pose from different angles.  In the first I continue to explore the combination of charcoal and gouache.  Unlike the previous post on experimental drawing, I fixed the charcoal before painting over it.  This results in a quite different effect – the paint sticks to the surface instead of skating over the carbon layer.  Once again, I am trying for the contrast between the opaque and transparent use of paint.  I think opaque medium is called body colour, but ironically, I used this for the background.

.

The following week, instead of continuing with this, I opted to start from scratch in pencil and work solely in transparent watercolour.

Conclusion … start with a bigger brush and work more consciously light to dark.

7 responses to “Life drawing

  1. It is different to work over fixed charcoal. I do like the mess one gets leaving it unfixed. Thanks for showing these.

  2. I, too, love the first one. The quality of the paint on the fabric is lovely. I’m not at all experimental in my work so this is really inspiring to read about.

Leave a Reply

