Experimental drawing

In the Experimental Drawing we are supposed to be working taking the methods of Len Tabner and David Tress.  As an aside, last week I was dead impressed by the work produced by the others: painting. tearing and re-forming abstract landscapes or using very mixed media with great results.

I’ve got a bit semi-detached from the class.  When I arrive it takes me a while to wind down from work and I’m usually hungry which is a downer on creativity.  I’d missed a couple of sessions and arrived more than half way through a week ago on the day we re-started with the new theme.

Last week, however, I’d been to a meeting all day about how to combine drugs to arrest cancer.  I came back on the train inspired and writing a proposal for work leading to a trial.  I was home earlier than usual and actually ate.  So I got to the class on time and with a plan.  I am still inspired by a book I’d been reading recently to my children.  I hit the paper with watercolour, then charcoal then threw gouache onto the unfixed graphite.  The result, above, is nothing like the class theme but it entertained me.

Below were my first thoughts from the previous week.

These are a beginning for this composition.  I will go in two ways.  I plan to re-draw this in landscape with more clearly thought through elements of the whole.  But I also intend to sacrifice these drawings, shred them and re-use the pieces.

Finally, I mentioned that these are inspired by my reading out at bedtime.  I post here my 5-year old daughter’s drawing based on our current book.  No prizes for guessing the book …

6 responses to “Experimental drawing

  1. Have to agree with the others, the top painting has so much brooding atmosphere – make me want to know what happens next.

    Your daughter’s drawing is a delight. ‘Treasure Island’ – great book!

    • Thanks to you and everyone whose commented.
      Just to say the bottom painting was just a test – a one hour exploration. The idea was the contrast between the charcoal / gouache rocks versus the watercolour light. From this came the second painting which had the full 2 hours. They are all experiments.
      About knowing what happens next – yes, I want to get more sense of moving narrative into the next version.

Leave a Reply

