juvenile herons

With cold stiff fingers, I sketched a juvenile heron folding itself as small as possible against the wind

With failing light, I abandoned the hides and continued drawing at home.  I found I had omitted to put an SD card in my camera, so worked instead from photographs taken earlier in the year with more abundant foliage in the background.

charcoal and chalk pastel

 

This younger bird, again crouching among the undergrowth, does not share the appearance of sleek menace with the adults.

To finish this post, a field sketch again.  I had a minute or two to draw this adult as it stalked the undergrowth.  Moments later it made a kill and disappeared soon after.

7 responses to “juvenile herons

  1. How you photograph a picture makes quite a difference. I had taken a shot of the charcoal drawing using indoor lighting and this put an orange sheen on the areas of chalk highlights that I had not intended. Now I’ve adjusted the image digitally, lightening it and shifting the hue slightly to blue to account for this.

  2. Pingback: Drawing birds in the field | kestrelart

Leave a Reply

