They cannot conquer for ever

Look! The king has got a crown again!

This was drawn in compressed charcoal on buff paper.  I have returned to a limestone block eroding from an arid karst platform, supporting trailing caper plants in flower.  My attention was drawn to a large hole, somehow reminiscent of an eye socket.  I have drawn this before, like a side view of an ungulate’s skull (https://kestrelart.wordpress.com/2011/11/09/limestone-skull/).  This time I saw a more anthropoid facies in the same image.  The overlying white flowers brought back to me a scene from Lord of the Rings describing an unexpected vision of hope for the beleaguered characters.  Unintentionally perhaps, my own image subverts this and is rather bleaker in mood.

2 responses to “They cannot conquer for ever

  1. You are right of course. I saw a skull from the start and this is what I drew. I will keep returning to this. Each attempt is a means of exploring the patterns formed by the erosion of the surface. This is only one way, imposing an image opens then a narrative on what I cold see in nature. Future versions may go back to the more natural surface.

Leave a Reply

